BirthPros · Guides · Costs

What does a doula cost in Johannesburg?

Use these published examples to compare written quotes. They are individual providers’ fees, not a Johannesburg average.

Checked on 2026-10-07 · General information. Talk to your midwife or gynae.

A toddler resting on her mum’s pregnancy bump
Photo: TRPhoto

Published prices

These are examples to check with the provider, not a market average. “Year not stated” means the source gives no tariff year; the checked date is not a price guarantee. Swipe the table sideways on a phone.

Nurturing Birth · R4,000 · Prenatal meeting, birth support, on-call period and a postnatal visit. Nurturing Birth · R4,000 Passionate Births · Pietermaritzburg (SA comparison) · R5,800 · Prenatal visit, labour and birth support, weekly post-birth visits for six weeks. Passionate Births · Pietermaritzburg (SA comparison) · R5,800 R4,000R5,800
One dot per numeric published fee. Some dots overlap. Focus or tap a dot for its price row. Full labels, inclusions and tariff years are in the table below. These fees cover different services; they are not an average or an all-in estimate.
Published fees · South African rand
Provider / sourceWhat’s includedPriceTariff year
Nurturing Birth
Nurturing Birth
Prenatal meeting, birth support, on-call period and a postnatal visit.R4,000Year not stated
Passionate Births · Pietermaritzburg (SA comparison)
Passionate Births
Prenatal visit, labour and birth support, weekly post-birth visits for six weeks.R5,8002024

What changes the bill?

Nurturing Birth lists an on-call window beginning two weeks before the due date and a postnatal visit in the first week. Ask about backup and any travel charges. Nurturing Birth

Passionate Births’ 2024 agreement lists extra consultations at R450 per hour and a non-refundable R2,500 retaining fee within the package price. Reconfirm this older quote before booking. Passionate Births

Questions to ask before you book

  • When does your on-call window start, and who is your backup?
  • What changes if I have a planned or emergency C-section?
  • How many visits and travel kilometres are included?

Sources

Checked on 2026-10-07. Published details can change; confirm them before you book.