BirthPros · Guides · Costs

What do pregnancy scans cost in Johannesburg?

Check the name of the scan on your referral before comparing prices. Ask your midwife or gynae which scan you need.

Checked on 2026-10-07 · General information. Talk to your midwife or gynae.

Hands resting on a pregnancy bump
Photo: TRPhoto

Published prices

These are examples to check with the provider, not a market average. “Year not stated” means the source gives no tariff year; the checked date is not a price guarantee. Swipe the table sideways on a phone.

Lister Clinic · Johannesburg · R1,200 · First antenatal consultation with sonar and medication; not a standalone scan. Lister Clinic · Johannesburg · R1,200 Lister Clinic · R1,200 · Anatomical pregnancy sonar with printout. Lister Clinic · R1,200 Lister Clinic · R1,200 · 4D pregnancy sonar with printout. Lister Clinic · R1,200 R1,200R1,200
One dot per numeric published fee. Some dots overlap. Focus or tap a dot for its price row. Full labels, inclusions and tariff years are in the table below. These fees cover different services; they are not an average or an all-in estimate.
Published fees · South African rand
Provider / sourceWhat’s includedPriceTariff year
Lister Clinic · Johannesburg
Lister Clinic
First antenatal consultation with sonar and medication; not a standalone scan.R1,200Year not stated
Lister Clinic
Lister Clinic
Anatomical pregnancy sonar with printout.R1,200Year not stated
Lister Clinic
Lister Clinic
4D pregnancy sonar with printout.R1,200Year not stated

What changes the bill?

Lister Clinic explicitly says its 4D pregnancy sonar does not show fetal abnormalities. Its price page separates this from anatomical sonar. Lister Clinic

NHS general guidance offers a dating scan at 11–14 weeks and a mid-pregnancy screening scan at 18–21 weeks. Confirm the timing and referral with your Johannesburg care team. NHS

Questions to ask before you book

  • Is this a diagnostic scan or a keepsake scan?
  • Does the fee include the report, pictures and a repeat if views are incomplete?
  • Will my scheme cover this specific scan and provider?

Sources

Checked on 2026-10-07. Published details can change; confirm them before you book.