Compare what’s published
This is a selection of options, grouped where the published maternity benefits match. Entry, mid and comprehensive are browsing labels, not the schemes’ official classifications. A blank means not published or not verified here; it does not mean there is no cover. Shared visit limits are described as shared, not added together.
Scroll sideways for the table, or use the scheme cards below. Midwife care and birth houses come before doctor-led and hospital care.
Open the comparison table · 25 selected option groups
| Scheme / selected option | Midwife visits / delivery | Antenatal consultations | Scans | Birth houses / home birth | Hospital birth | Doula | Antenatal classes | Postnatal care | Lactation | Registration / authorisation | Programme |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Discovery Health Medical SchemeKeyCare Plus / Core; Core / Saver / Priority / Smart (excluding Active Smart) · Entry / mid | Midwives can provide the antenatal consultations. 2026 source | Eight visits with a midwife, GP or gynae; plan networks apply. 2026 source | Two 2D scans, or one 2D scan plus a nuchal translucency test; 3D/4D paid at the 2D rate. 2026 source | Home and birthing-home delivery with a registered midwife and valid practice number: Hospital Benefit, up to Discovery Health Rate. 2026 source | Available Personal Health Fund / Medical Savings Account funds; no Above Threshold Benefit. 2026 source | Five shared pre-/postnatal classes or nurse consultations, up to baby’s second birthday. 2026 source | One six-week follow-up for post-delivery complications. 2026 source | One nurse or lactation-specialist consultation at Discovery Health Rate. 2026 source | Activate My Pregnancy / My Baby profile; preauthorise delivery. 2026 source | My Pregnancy and My Baby. 2026 source | |
| Discovery Health Medical SchemeExecutive / Comprehensive · Comprehensive | Midwives can provide the antenatal consultations. 2026 source | Twelve visits with a midwife, GP or gynae at Discovery Health Rate. 2026 source | Two 2D scans, or one 2D scan plus a nuchal translucency test; 3D/4D paid at the 2D rate. 2026 source | Home and birthing-home delivery with a registered midwife and valid practice number: Hospital Benefit, up to Discovery Health Rate. 2026 source | Available Personal Health Fund / Medical Savings Account funds; no Above Threshold Benefit. 2026 source | Five shared pre-/postnatal classes or nurse consultations, up to baby’s second birthday. 2026 source | One six-week follow-up for post-delivery complications. 2026 source | One nurse or lactation-specialist consultation at Discovery Health Rate. 2026 source | Activate My Pregnancy / My Baby profile; preauthorise delivery. 2026 source | My Pregnancy and My Baby. 2026 source | |
| Discovery Health Medical SchemeActive Smart / KeyCare Start / Start Regional · Entry | Full Maternity Benefit excluded; maternity care uses available day-to-day benefits unless qualifying as PMB. 2026 source | Pregnancy / baby profile retains digital support. 2026 source | |||||||||
| BonitasBonComplete · Mid | Midwives included among antenatal providers. 2026 source | Six visits with a midwife, GP or gynae. 2026 source | Two 2D scans. 2026 source | R1,580 for antenatal classes. 2026 source | Four midwife visits after delivery. 2026 source | One of the four postnatal visits may be with an accredited lactation specialist. 2026 source | Bonitas Maternity Programme, including online classes and follow-up calls. 2026 source | ||||
| BonitasBonComprehensive · Comprehensive | Midwives included among antenatal providers. 2026 source | Twelve visits with a midwife, GP or gynae. 2026 source | Two 2D scans. 2026 source | R1,640 for antenatal classes. 2026 source | Four midwife visits; one may be used for accredited lactation support. 2026 source | One of the four postnatal visits may be with an accredited lactation specialist. 2026 source | Bonitas Maternity Programme, including online classes and follow-up calls. 2026 source | ||||
| BonitasBonCap / BonCore (visit limits not verified here) · Entry | Preauthorise pregnancy / hospital stay from 20 weeks; dedicated BonCap / BonCore contact in the guide. 2026 source | ||||||||||
| Momentum Medical SchemeEvolve · Entry | Twelve antenatal visits, including dipstick urine tests. 2026 source | Two pregnancy scans. 2026 source | Two doula visits. 2026 source | Two nurse home visits after hospital discharge. 2026 source | Maternity programme under the Health Platform Benefit. 2026 source | ||||||
| Momentum Medical SchemeIncentive · Mid | Twelve antenatal visits, including dipstick urine tests. 2026 source | Two pregnancy scans. 2026 source | Two doula visits. 2026 source | Two nurse home visits after hospital discharge. 2026 source | Maternity programme under the Health Platform Benefit. 2026 source | ||||||
| Momentum Medical SchemeSummit · Comprehensive | Twelve antenatal visits, including dipstick urine tests. 2026 source | Two pregnancy scans. 2026 source | Two doula visits. 2026 source | Two nurse home visits after hospital discharge. 2026 source | Maternity programme under the Health Platform Benefit. 2026 source | ||||||
| MedshieldMediCurve · Entry | Registered midwife delivery paid at Medshield Private Rates up to 200%. 2026 source | 6 antenatal visits; specialist network may apply. 2026 source | Two 2D scans per pregnancy. 2026 source | Registered birthing unit or out-of-hospital confinement: unlimited, with preauthorisation, DSP / provider-network rules and clinical protocols. 2026 source | 4 visits shared with postnatal midwife consultations per event. 2026 source | Shared 4-visit class / postnatal midwife allowance. 2026 source | Preauthorisation required; use applicable DSP and provider networks. 2026 source | Medshield MOM. 2026 source | |||
| MedshieldMediPlus Prime / Compact · Mid | Registered midwife delivery paid at Medshield Private Rates up to 200%. 2026 source | 12 antenatal visits; specialist network may apply. 2026 source | Two 2D/3D/4D scans per pregnancy. 2026 source | Registered birthing unit or out-of-hospital confinement: unlimited, with preauthorisation, DSP / provider-network rules and clinical protocols. 2026 source | 8 visits shared with postnatal midwife consultations per event. 2026 source | Shared 8-visit class / postnatal midwife allowance. 2026 source | Preauthorisation required; use applicable DSP and provider networks. 2026 source | Medshield MOM. 2026 source | |||
| MedshieldPremiumPlus · Comprehensive | Registered midwife delivery paid at Medshield Private Rates up to 200%. 2026 source | 12 antenatal visits; specialist network may apply. 2026 source | Two 2D/3D/4D scans per pregnancy. 2026 source | Registered birthing unit or out-of-hospital confinement: unlimited, with preauthorisation, DSP / provider-network rules and clinical protocols. 2026 source | 8 visits shared with postnatal midwife consultations per event. 2026 source | Shared 8-visit class / postnatal midwife allowance. 2026 source | Preauthorisation required; use applicable DSP and provider networks. 2026 source | Medshield MOM. 2026 source | |||
| FedhealthmyFED · Entry | Nominated contracted GP consultations; protocols and utilisation monitoring after ten visits per beneficiary per year. 2026 source | Ultrasound uses the radiology benefit; no separate scan count stated in the maternity section. 2026 source | Four midwife visits per event, in or out of hospital. 2026 source | myFED Baby Programme. 2026 source | |||||||
| FedhealthflexiFED 2 Savings · Mid | Midwives included in antenatal / postnatal consultation allowance. 2026 source | Eight antenatal or postnatal consultations with a midwife, network GP or gynae. 2026 source | Two 2D antenatal scans. 2026 source | R3,600 per delivery for support during natural childbirth. 2026 source | Up to R1,200, conducted by private nurses. 2026 source | The brochure repeats eight postnatal or antenatal visits; confirm the shared limit rather than assuming sixteen. 2026 source | Online post-birth consultation with a breastfeeding expert for Baby Programme members. 2026 source | Preauthorisation required; Baby Programme registration from week 12. 2026 source | Fedhealth Baby Programme. 2026 source | ||
| MedihelpMedVital / MedVital Elect · Entry | Midwives included in shared antenatal / postnatal allowance. 2026 source | 8 antenatal and postnatal visits combined, with a midwife, GP or gynae. 2026 source | Two 2D scans. 2026 source | Home delivery: professional nursing, equipment, materials and medicine at 100% Medihelp tariff, within R17,100 per event; preauthorisation required. A 20% co-payment applies if not preauthorised. 2026 source | 1 shared antenatal / postnatal consultation(s) for classes, dietitian or lactation specialist. 2026 source | Postnatal visits share the combined antenatal / postnatal consultation allowance. 2026 source | Uses the same shared class / dietitian / lactation allowance. 2026 source | Register for Parenting journey; delivery preauthorisation required. 2026 source | Parenting journey. 2026 source | ||
| MedihelpMedAdd / MedAdd Elect / MedSaver / MedReach / MedPrime / MedPrime Elect · Mid | Midwives included in shared antenatal / postnatal allowance. 2026 source | 10 antenatal and postnatal visits combined, with a midwife, GP or gynae. 2026 source | Two 2D scans. 2026 source | Home delivery: professional nursing, equipment, materials and medicine at 100% Medihelp tariff, within R17,100 per event; preauthorisation required. MedReach has a 35% co-payment if not preauthorised; the other listed plans have 20%. 2026 source | 2 shared antenatal / postnatal consultation(s) for classes, dietitian or lactation specialist. 2026 source | Postnatal visits share the combined antenatal / postnatal consultation allowance. 2026 source | Uses the same shared class / dietitian / lactation allowance. 2026 source | Register for Parenting journey; delivery preauthorisation required. 2026 source | Parenting journey. 2026 source | ||
| MedihelpMedElite / MedPlus · Comprehensive | Midwives included in shared antenatal / postnatal allowance. 2026 source | 10 antenatal and postnatal visits combined, with a midwife, GP or gynae. 2026 source | Two 2D scans. 2026 source | MedElite home delivery: nursing, equipment, materials and medicine at 100% Medihelp tariff, within R17,100 per event. Preauthorisation required; 20% co-payment if not preauthorised. MedPlus home-delivery limits were not verified here. 2026 source | 2 shared antenatal / postnatal consultation(s) for classes, dietitian or lactation specialist. 2026 source | Postnatal visits share the combined antenatal / postnatal consultation allowance. 2026 source | Uses the same shared class / dietitian / lactation allowance. 2026 source | Register for Parenting journey; delivery preauthorisation required. 2026 source | Parenting journey. 2026 source | ||
| MedihelpMedMove! · Entry | Added insured maternity benefits are not available on MedMove!. 2026 source | ||||||||||
| ProfmedProActive Plus (Premium / Savvy) · Entry | 6 ante-/postnatal midwife visits. R630 per visit; risk benefit after programme registration. 2026 source | 6 ante-/postnatal medical-practitioner visits, subject to the stated tariff and funding rules. 2026 source | Two scans per pregnancy; ProActive Plus specifies 2D. Risk funding on ProActive Plus / ProSecure / ProSecure Plus; ProPinnacle uses day-to-day funds. 2026 source | Postnatal consultations use the ante-/postnatal allowance. A six-week nurse home visit is available for newborns registered on the scheme, using the home-care DSP network and Tums2Tots registration; nurse availability applies. 2026 source | Programme registration for ProActive Plus / ProSecure / ProSecure Plus; preauthorisation and protocols apply. 2026 source | Maternity programme; Tums2Tots Baby and Toddler Programme for home-based postnatal care. 2026 source | |||||
| ProfmedProSecure / ProSecure Plus (Premium / Savvy) · Mid | 13 ante-/postnatal midwife visits. Registered midwife R920; GP R630 / specialist R920. Risk benefit after registration. 2026 source | 13 ante-/postnatal medical-practitioner visits, subject to the stated tariff and funding rules. 2026 source | Two scans per pregnancy; ProActive Plus specifies 2D. Risk funding on ProActive Plus / ProSecure / ProSecure Plus; ProPinnacle uses day-to-day funds. 2026 source | Postnatal consultations use the ante-/postnatal allowance. A six-week nurse home visit is available for newborns registered on the scheme, using the home-care DSP network and Tums2Tots registration; nurse availability applies. 2026 source | One visit up to six months after delivery: risk on ProSecure / ProSecure Plus; day-to-day on ProPinnacle. 2026 source | Programme registration for ProActive Plus / ProSecure / ProSecure Plus; preauthorisation and protocols apply. 2026 source | Maternity programme; Tums2Tots Baby and Toddler Programme for home-based postnatal care. 2026 source | ||||
| ProfmedProPinnacle (Premium / Savvy) · Comprehensive | 13 ante-/postnatal midwife visits. 300% Profmed tariff; subject to the day-to-day limit. 2026 source | 13 ante-/postnatal medical-practitioner visits, subject to the stated tariff and funding rules. 2026 source | Two scans per pregnancy; ProActive Plus specifies 2D. Risk funding on ProActive Plus / ProSecure / ProSecure Plus; ProPinnacle uses day-to-day funds. 2026 source | Postnatal consultations use the ante-/postnatal allowance. A six-week nurse home visit is available for newborns registered on the scheme, using the home-care DSP network and Tums2Tots registration; nurse availability applies. 2026 source | One visit up to six months after delivery: risk on ProSecure / ProSecure Plus; day-to-day on ProPinnacle. 2026 source | Programme registration for ProActive Plus / ProSecure / ProSecure Plus; preauthorisation and protocols apply. 2026 source | Maternity programme; Tums2Tots Baby and Toddler Programme for home-based postnatal care. 2026 source | ||||
| Genesis Medical SchemeMED-100 · Entry | No out-of-hospital plain radiography benefit listed. 2026 source | In-hospital GP / specialist maternity accounts: up to 100% Scheme tariff. 2026 source | |||||||||
| Genesis Medical SchemeMED-200 / MED-200 Plus · Mid / comprehensive | Out-of-hospital plain radiography (including maternity ultrasound): 50% of lower of cost or Scheme tariff, within R5,800 per beneficiary per year. 2026 source | In-hospital GP / specialist maternity accounts: up to 200% Scheme tariff. 2026 source | |||||||||
| KeyHealthSmart Baby Programme (option differences not specified on this page) · Entry / mid / comprehensive | Midwives included among antenatal providers. 2026 source | Twelve visits with a midwife, GP or gynae, including dipstick urine tests. 2026 source | Two pregnancy ultrasound scans. 2026 source | R2,650 for the first pregnancy. 2026 source | Register as soon as pregnancy is confirmed. 2026 source | Smart Baby Programme. 2026 source | |||||
| GEMSMaternity Care Plan (confirm option networks / limits) · Entry / mid / comprehensive | Six visits shared between a midwife and GP within the nine-visit care plan. 2026 source | Nine total: six GP / midwife and three gynae / obstetrician. Two GP / midwife visits may be transferred to specialist visits. 2026 source | Two scans; 3D/4D covered only up to a 2D scan’s cost. 2026 source | May use day-to-day benefits, depending on the option. 2026 source | Midwife telephone follow-up around six weeks after delivery. 2026 source | Telephone breastfeeding advice where applicable; separate consultant payment not verified. 2026 source | Register once pregnancy is confirmed; preauthorise delivery and use applicable networks. 2026 source | GEMS Maternity Programme. 2026 source |
Discovery Health Medical Scheme
KeyCare Plus / Core; Core / Saver / Priority / Smart (excluding Active Smart) (Entry / mid)
- Midwife visits / delivery
- Midwives can provide the antenatal consultations.Discovery Health Medical Scheme · 2026 benefits
- Antenatal consultations
- Eight visits with a midwife, GP or gynae; plan networks apply.Discovery Health Medical Scheme · 2026 benefits
- Scans
- Two 2D scans, or one 2D scan plus a nuchal translucency test; 3D/4D paid at the 2D rate.Discovery Health Medical Scheme · 2026 benefits
- Birth houses / home birth
- Home and birthing-home delivery with a registered midwife and valid practice number: Hospital Benefit, up to Discovery Health Rate.Discovery Health Medical Scheme · 2026 benefits
- Doula
- Available Personal Health Fund / Medical Savings Account funds; no Above Threshold Benefit.Discovery Health Medical Scheme · 2026 benefits
- Antenatal classes
- Five shared pre-/postnatal classes or nurse consultations, up to baby’s second birthday.Discovery Health Medical Scheme · 2026 benefits
- Postnatal care
- One six-week follow-up for post-delivery complications.Discovery Health Medical Scheme · 2026 benefits
- Lactation
- One nurse or lactation-specialist consultation at Discovery Health Rate.Discovery Health Medical Scheme · 2026 benefits
- Registration / authorisation
- Activate My Pregnancy / My Baby profile; preauthorise delivery.Discovery Health Medical Scheme · 2026 benefits
- Programme
- My Pregnancy and My Baby.Discovery Health Medical Scheme · 2026 benefits
Executive / Comprehensive (Comprehensive)
- Midwife visits / delivery
- Midwives can provide the antenatal consultations.Discovery Health Medical Scheme · 2026 benefits
- Antenatal consultations
- Twelve visits with a midwife, GP or gynae at Discovery Health Rate.Discovery Health Medical Scheme · 2026 benefits
- Scans
- Two 2D scans, or one 2D scan plus a nuchal translucency test; 3D/4D paid at the 2D rate.Discovery Health Medical Scheme · 2026 benefits
- Birth houses / home birth
- Home and birthing-home delivery with a registered midwife and valid practice number: Hospital Benefit, up to Discovery Health Rate.Discovery Health Medical Scheme · 2026 benefits
- Doula
- Available Personal Health Fund / Medical Savings Account funds; no Above Threshold Benefit.Discovery Health Medical Scheme · 2026 benefits
- Antenatal classes
- Five shared pre-/postnatal classes or nurse consultations, up to baby’s second birthday.Discovery Health Medical Scheme · 2026 benefits
- Postnatal care
- One six-week follow-up for post-delivery complications.Discovery Health Medical Scheme · 2026 benefits
- Lactation
- One nurse or lactation-specialist consultation at Discovery Health Rate.Discovery Health Medical Scheme · 2026 benefits
- Registration / authorisation
- Activate My Pregnancy / My Baby profile; preauthorise delivery.Discovery Health Medical Scheme · 2026 benefits
- Programme
- My Pregnancy and My Baby.Discovery Health Medical Scheme · 2026 benefits
Active Smart / KeyCare Start / Start Regional (Entry)
- Antenatal consultations
- Full Maternity Benefit excluded; maternity care uses available day-to-day benefits unless qualifying as PMB.Discovery Health Medical Scheme · 2026 benefits
- Programme
- Pregnancy / baby profile retains digital support.Discovery Health Medical Scheme · 2026 benefits
Fields omitted from this card remain blank in the comparison above.
Bonitas
BonComplete (Mid)
- Midwife visits / delivery
- Midwives included among antenatal providers.Bonitas · 2026 benefits
- Antenatal consultations
- Six visits with a midwife, GP or gynae.Bonitas · 2026 benefits
- Scans
- Two 2D scans.Bonitas · 2026 benefits
- Antenatal classes
- R1,580 for antenatal classes.Bonitas · 2026 benefits
- Postnatal care
- Four midwife visits after delivery.Bonitas · 2026 benefits
- Lactation
- One of the four postnatal visits may be with an accredited lactation specialist.Bonitas · 2026 benefits
- Programme
- Bonitas Maternity Programme, including online classes and follow-up calls.Bonitas · 2026 benefits
BonComprehensive (Comprehensive)
- Midwife visits / delivery
- Midwives included among antenatal providers.Bonitas · 2026 benefits
- Antenatal consultations
- Twelve visits with a midwife, GP or gynae.Bonitas · 2026 benefits
- Scans
- Two 2D scans.Bonitas · 2026 benefits
- Antenatal classes
- R1,640 for antenatal classes.Bonitas · 2026 benefits
- Postnatal care
- Four midwife visits; one may be used for accredited lactation support.Bonitas · 2026 benefits
- Lactation
- One of the four postnatal visits may be with an accredited lactation specialist.Bonitas · 2026 benefits
- Programme
- Bonitas Maternity Programme, including online classes and follow-up calls.Bonitas · 2026 benefits
BonCap / BonCore (visit limits not verified here) (Entry)
- Registration / authorisation
- Preauthorise pregnancy / hospital stay from 20 weeks; dedicated BonCap / BonCore contact in the guide.Bonitas · 2026 benefits
Fields omitted from this card remain blank in the comparison above.
Momentum Medical Scheme
Evolve (Entry)
- Antenatal consultations
- Twelve antenatal visits, including dipstick urine tests.Momentum Medical Scheme · 2026 benefits
- Scans
- Two pregnancy scans.Momentum Medical Scheme · 2026 benefits
- Doula
- Two doula visits.Momentum Medical Scheme · 2026 benefits
- Postnatal care
- Two nurse home visits after hospital discharge.Momentum Medical Scheme · 2026 benefits
- Programme
- Maternity programme under the Health Platform Benefit.Momentum Medical Scheme · 2026 benefits
Incentive (Mid)
- Antenatal consultations
- Twelve antenatal visits, including dipstick urine tests.Momentum Medical Scheme · 2026 benefits
- Scans
- Two pregnancy scans.Momentum Medical Scheme · 2026 benefits
- Doula
- Two doula visits.Momentum Medical Scheme · 2026 benefits
- Postnatal care
- Two nurse home visits after hospital discharge.Momentum Medical Scheme · 2026 benefits
- Programme
- Maternity programme under the Health Platform Benefit.Momentum Medical Scheme · 2026 benefits
Summit (Comprehensive)
- Antenatal consultations
- Twelve antenatal visits, including dipstick urine tests.Momentum Medical Scheme · 2026 benefits
- Scans
- Two pregnancy scans.Momentum Medical Scheme · 2026 benefits
- Doula
- Two doula visits.Momentum Medical Scheme · 2026 benefits
- Postnatal care
- Two nurse home visits after hospital discharge.Momentum Medical Scheme · 2026 benefits
- Programme
- Maternity programme under the Health Platform Benefit.Momentum Medical Scheme · 2026 benefits
Fields omitted from this card remain blank in the comparison above.
Medshield
MediCurve (Entry)
- Midwife visits / delivery
- Registered midwife delivery paid at Medshield Private Rates up to 200%.Medshield · 2026 benefits
- Antenatal consultations
- 6 antenatal visits; specialist network may apply.Medshield · 2026 benefits
- Scans
- Two 2D scans per pregnancy.Medshield · 2026 benefits
- Birth houses / home birth
- Registered birthing unit or out-of-hospital confinement: unlimited, with preauthorisation, DSP / provider-network rules and clinical protocols.Medshield · 2026 benefits
- Antenatal classes
- 4 visits shared with postnatal midwife consultations per event.Medshield · 2026 benefits
- Postnatal care
- Shared 4-visit class / postnatal midwife allowance.Medshield · 2026 benefits
- Registration / authorisation
- Preauthorisation required; use applicable DSP and provider networks.Medshield · 2026 benefits
- Programme
- Medshield MOM.Medshield · 2026 benefits
MediPlus Prime / Compact (Mid)
- Midwife visits / delivery
- Registered midwife delivery paid at Medshield Private Rates up to 200%.Medshield · 2026 benefits
- Antenatal consultations
- 12 antenatal visits; specialist network may apply.Medshield · 2026 benefits
- Scans
- Two 2D/3D/4D scans per pregnancy.Medshield · 2026 benefits
- Birth houses / home birth
- Registered birthing unit or out-of-hospital confinement: unlimited, with preauthorisation, DSP / provider-network rules and clinical protocols.Medshield · 2026 benefits
- Antenatal classes
- 8 visits shared with postnatal midwife consultations per event.Medshield · 2026 benefits
- Postnatal care
- Shared 8-visit class / postnatal midwife allowance.Medshield · 2026 benefits
- Registration / authorisation
- Preauthorisation required; use applicable DSP and provider networks.Medshield · 2026 benefits
- Programme
- Medshield MOM.Medshield · 2026 benefits
PremiumPlus (Comprehensive)
- Midwife visits / delivery
- Registered midwife delivery paid at Medshield Private Rates up to 200%.Medshield · 2026 benefits
- Antenatal consultations
- 12 antenatal visits; specialist network may apply.Medshield · 2026 benefits
- Scans
- Two 2D/3D/4D scans per pregnancy.Medshield · 2026 benefits
- Birth houses / home birth
- Registered birthing unit or out-of-hospital confinement: unlimited, with preauthorisation, DSP / provider-network rules and clinical protocols.Medshield · 2026 benefits
- Antenatal classes
- 8 visits shared with postnatal midwife consultations per event.Medshield · 2026 benefits
- Postnatal care
- Shared 8-visit class / postnatal midwife allowance.Medshield · 2026 benefits
- Registration / authorisation
- Preauthorisation required; use applicable DSP and provider networks.Medshield · 2026 benefits
- Programme
- Medshield MOM.Medshield · 2026 benefits
Fields omitted from this card remain blank in the comparison above.
Fedhealth
myFED (Entry)
- Antenatal consultations
- Nominated contracted GP consultations; protocols and utilisation monitoring after ten visits per beneficiary per year.Fedhealth · 2026 benefits
- Scans
- Ultrasound uses the radiology benefit; no separate scan count stated in the maternity section.Fedhealth · 2026 benefits
- Postnatal care
- Four midwife visits per event, in or out of hospital.Fedhealth · 2026 benefits
- Programme
- myFED Baby Programme.Fedhealth · 2026 benefits
flexiFED 2 Savings (Mid)
- Midwife visits / delivery
- Midwives included in antenatal / postnatal consultation allowance.Fedhealth · 2026 benefits
- Antenatal consultations
- Eight antenatal or postnatal consultations with a midwife, network GP or gynae.Fedhealth · 2026 benefits
- Scans
- Two 2D antenatal scans.Fedhealth · 2026 benefits
- Doula
- R3,600 per delivery for support during natural childbirth.Fedhealth · 2026 benefits
- Antenatal classes
- Up to R1,200, conducted by private nurses.Fedhealth · 2026 benefits
- Postnatal care
- The brochure repeats eight postnatal or antenatal visits; confirm the shared limit rather than assuming sixteen.Fedhealth · 2026 benefits
- Lactation
- Online post-birth consultation with a breastfeeding expert for Baby Programme members.Fedhealth · 2026 benefits
- Registration / authorisation
- Preauthorisation required; Baby Programme registration from week 12.Fedhealth · 2026 benefits
- Programme
- Fedhealth Baby Programme.Fedhealth · 2026 benefits
Fields omitted from this card remain blank in the comparison above.
Medihelp
MedVital / MedVital Elect (Entry)
- Midwife visits / delivery
- Midwives included in shared antenatal / postnatal allowance.Medihelp · 2026 benefits
- Antenatal consultations
- 8 antenatal and postnatal visits combined, with a midwife, GP or gynae.Medihelp · 2026 benefits
- Scans
- Two 2D scans.Medihelp · 2026 benefits
- Birth houses / home birth
- Home delivery: professional nursing, equipment, materials and medicine at 100% Medihelp tariff, within R17,100 per event; preauthorisation required. A 20% co-payment applies if not preauthorised.Medihelp · 2026 benefits
- Antenatal classes
- 1 shared antenatal / postnatal consultation(s) for classes, dietitian or lactation specialist.Medihelp · 2026 benefits
- Postnatal care
- Postnatal visits share the combined antenatal / postnatal consultation allowance.Medihelp · 2026 benefits
- Lactation
- Uses the same shared class / dietitian / lactation allowance.Medihelp · 2026 benefits
- Registration / authorisation
- Register for Parenting journey; delivery preauthorisation required.Medihelp · 2026 benefits
- Programme
- Parenting journey.Medihelp · 2026 benefits
MedAdd / MedAdd Elect / MedSaver / MedReach / MedPrime / MedPrime Elect (Mid)
- Midwife visits / delivery
- Midwives included in shared antenatal / postnatal allowance.Medihelp · 2026 benefits
- Antenatal consultations
- 10 antenatal and postnatal visits combined, with a midwife, GP or gynae.Medihelp · 2026 benefits
- Scans
- Two 2D scans.Medihelp · 2026 benefits
- Birth houses / home birth
- Home delivery: professional nursing, equipment, materials and medicine at 100% Medihelp tariff, within R17,100 per event; preauthorisation required. MedReach has a 35% co-payment if not preauthorised; the other listed plans have 20%.Medihelp · 2026 benefits
- Antenatal classes
- 2 shared antenatal / postnatal consultation(s) for classes, dietitian or lactation specialist.Medihelp · 2026 benefits
- Postnatal care
- Postnatal visits share the combined antenatal / postnatal consultation allowance.Medihelp · 2026 benefits
- Lactation
- Uses the same shared class / dietitian / lactation allowance.Medihelp · 2026 benefits
- Registration / authorisation
- Register for Parenting journey; delivery preauthorisation required.Medihelp · 2026 benefits
- Programme
- Parenting journey.Medihelp · 2026 benefits
MedElite / MedPlus (Comprehensive)
- Midwife visits / delivery
- Midwives included in shared antenatal / postnatal allowance.Medihelp · 2026 benefits
- Antenatal consultations
- 10 antenatal and postnatal visits combined, with a midwife, GP or gynae.Medihelp · 2026 benefits
- Scans
- Two 2D scans.Medihelp · 2026 benefits
- Birth houses / home birth
- MedElite home delivery: nursing, equipment, materials and medicine at 100% Medihelp tariff, within R17,100 per event. Preauthorisation required; 20% co-payment if not preauthorised. MedPlus home-delivery limits were not verified here.Medihelp · 2026 benefits
- Antenatal classes
- 2 shared antenatal / postnatal consultation(s) for classes, dietitian or lactation specialist.Medihelp · 2026 benefits
- Postnatal care
- Postnatal visits share the combined antenatal / postnatal consultation allowance.Medihelp · 2026 benefits
- Lactation
- Uses the same shared class / dietitian / lactation allowance.Medihelp · 2026 benefits
- Registration / authorisation
- Register for Parenting journey; delivery preauthorisation required.Medihelp · 2026 benefits
- Programme
- Parenting journey.Medihelp · 2026 benefits
MedMove! (Entry)
- Antenatal consultations
- Added insured maternity benefits are not available on MedMove!.Medihelp · 2026 benefits
Fields omitted from this card remain blank in the comparison above.
Profmed
ProActive Plus (Premium / Savvy) (Entry)
- Midwife visits / delivery
- 6 ante-/postnatal midwife visits. R630 per visit; risk benefit after programme registration.Profmed · 2026 benefits
- Antenatal consultations
- 6 ante-/postnatal medical-practitioner visits, subject to the stated tariff and funding rules.Profmed · 2026 benefits
- Scans
- Two scans per pregnancy; ProActive Plus specifies 2D. Risk funding on ProActive Plus / ProSecure / ProSecure Plus; ProPinnacle uses day-to-day funds.Profmed · 2026 benefits
- Postnatal care
- Postnatal consultations use the ante-/postnatal allowance. A six-week nurse home visit is available for newborns registered on the scheme, using the home-care DSP network and Tums2Tots registration; nurse availability applies.Profmed · 2026 benefits
- Registration / authorisation
- Programme registration for ProActive Plus / ProSecure / ProSecure Plus; preauthorisation and protocols apply.Profmed · 2026 benefits
- Programme
- Maternity programme; Tums2Tots Baby and Toddler Programme for home-based postnatal care.Profmed · 2026 benefits
ProSecure / ProSecure Plus (Premium / Savvy) (Mid)
- Midwife visits / delivery
- 13 ante-/postnatal midwife visits. Registered midwife R920; GP R630 / specialist R920. Risk benefit after registration.Profmed · 2026 benefits
- Antenatal consultations
- 13 ante-/postnatal medical-practitioner visits, subject to the stated tariff and funding rules.Profmed · 2026 benefits
- Scans
- Two scans per pregnancy; ProActive Plus specifies 2D. Risk funding on ProActive Plus / ProSecure / ProSecure Plus; ProPinnacle uses day-to-day funds.Profmed · 2026 benefits
- Postnatal care
- Postnatal consultations use the ante-/postnatal allowance. A six-week nurse home visit is available for newborns registered on the scheme, using the home-care DSP network and Tums2Tots registration; nurse availability applies.Profmed · 2026 benefits
- Lactation
- One visit up to six months after delivery: risk on ProSecure / ProSecure Plus; day-to-day on ProPinnacle.Profmed · 2026 benefits
- Registration / authorisation
- Programme registration for ProActive Plus / ProSecure / ProSecure Plus; preauthorisation and protocols apply.Profmed · 2026 benefits
- Programme
- Maternity programme; Tums2Tots Baby and Toddler Programme for home-based postnatal care.Profmed · 2026 benefits
ProPinnacle (Premium / Savvy) (Comprehensive)
- Midwife visits / delivery
- 13 ante-/postnatal midwife visits. 300% Profmed tariff; subject to the day-to-day limit.Profmed · 2026 benefits
- Antenatal consultations
- 13 ante-/postnatal medical-practitioner visits, subject to the stated tariff and funding rules.Profmed · 2026 benefits
- Scans
- Two scans per pregnancy; ProActive Plus specifies 2D. Risk funding on ProActive Plus / ProSecure / ProSecure Plus; ProPinnacle uses day-to-day funds.Profmed · 2026 benefits
- Postnatal care
- Postnatal consultations use the ante-/postnatal allowance. A six-week nurse home visit is available for newborns registered on the scheme, using the home-care DSP network and Tums2Tots registration; nurse availability applies.Profmed · 2026 benefits
- Lactation
- One visit up to six months after delivery: risk on ProSecure / ProSecure Plus; day-to-day on ProPinnacle.Profmed · 2026 benefits
- Registration / authorisation
- Programme registration for ProActive Plus / ProSecure / ProSecure Plus; preauthorisation and protocols apply.Profmed · 2026 benefits
- Programme
- Maternity programme; Tums2Tots Baby and Toddler Programme for home-based postnatal care.Profmed · 2026 benefits
Fields omitted from this card remain blank in the comparison above.
Genesis Medical Scheme
MED-100 (Entry)
- Scans
- No out-of-hospital plain radiography benefit listed.Genesis Medical Scheme · 2026 benefits
- Hospital birth
- In-hospital GP / specialist maternity accounts: up to 100% Scheme tariff.Genesis Medical Scheme · 2026 benefits
MED-200 / MED-200 Plus (Mid / comprehensive)
- Scans
- Out-of-hospital plain radiography (including maternity ultrasound): 50% of lower of cost or Scheme tariff, within R5,800 per beneficiary per year.Genesis Medical Scheme · 2026 benefits
- Hospital birth
- In-hospital GP / specialist maternity accounts: up to 200% Scheme tariff.Genesis Medical Scheme · 2026 benefits
Fields omitted from this card remain blank in the comparison above.
KeyHealth
Smart Baby Programme (option differences not specified on this page) (Entry / mid / comprehensive)
- Midwife visits / delivery
- Midwives included among antenatal providers.KeyHealth · 2026 benefits
- Antenatal consultations
- Twelve visits with a midwife, GP or gynae, including dipstick urine tests.KeyHealth · 2026 benefits
- Scans
- Two pregnancy ultrasound scans.KeyHealth · 2026 benefits
- Antenatal classes
- R2,650 for the first pregnancy.KeyHealth · 2026 benefits
- Registration / authorisation
- Register as soon as pregnancy is confirmed.KeyHealth · 2026 benefits
- Programme
- Smart Baby Programme.KeyHealth · 2026 benefits
Fields omitted from this card remain blank in the comparison above.
GEMS
Maternity Care Plan (confirm option networks / limits) (Entry / mid / comprehensive)
- Midwife visits / delivery
- Six visits shared between a midwife and GP within the nine-visit care plan.GEMS · 2026 benefits
- Antenatal consultations
- Nine total: six GP / midwife and three gynae / obstetrician. Two GP / midwife visits may be transferred to specialist visits.GEMS · 2026 benefits
- Scans
- Two scans; 3D/4D covered only up to a 2D scan’s cost.GEMS · 2026 benefits
- Antenatal classes
- May use day-to-day benefits, depending on the option.GEMS · 2026 benefits
- Postnatal care
- Midwife telephone follow-up around six weeks after delivery.GEMS · 2026 benefits
- Lactation
- Telephone breastfeeding advice where applicable; separate consultant payment not verified.GEMS · 2026 benefits
- Registration / authorisation
- Register once pregnancy is confirmed; preauthorise delivery and use applicable networks.GEMS · 2026 benefits
- Programme
- GEMS Maternity Programme.GEMS · 2026 benefits
Fields omitted from this card remain blank in the comparison above.
Not found yet
- POLMED: The 2026 member guide we found was on a test server (sandbox.polmed.co.za) with an invalid certificate, not the official site, so it is left out. Check polmed.co.za or call POLMED for 2026 maternity benefits.
- Bestmed: Bestmed’s 2026 comparative guide link now opens an error page, so its maternity details could not be re-checked and are left out. Check bestmed.co.za or call Bestmed.
- Fedhealth comprehensive options: A readable 2026 comprehensive-option maternity schedule was not found in this research; myFED and flexiFED 2 are included.
- Bonitas entry-option visit limits: BonCap / BonCore 2026 authorisation instructions were found, but their detailed visit limits were not verified.
We have not substituted older benefit years.
Questions to ask your scheme
- Does my exact option cover my midwife’s visits and delivery, and at which tariff?
- Is my birth house or home-birth arrangement approved, and what is the transfer cover?
- Which hospitals, doctors and other providers must I use to avoid co-payments?
- Are visit limits shared across antenatal and postnatal care?
- Is my doula, class or lactation consultation paid from risk, savings or my own pocket?
- When must I register for the programme, preauthorise delivery and add my baby?
- Can you confirm the authorisation, waiting periods, exclusions and likely shortfalls in writing?
Sources
Checked on 2026-10-07. Published details can change; confirm them before you book.
- Discovery Health Medical Scheme · 2026 benefits · checked 2026-10-07
- Bonitas · 2026 benefits · checked 2026-10-07
- Bonitas · 2026 benefits · checked 2026-10-07
- Momentum Medical Scheme · 2026 benefits · checked 2026-10-07
- Momentum Medical Scheme · 2026 benefits · checked 2026-10-07
- Momentum Medical Scheme · 2026 benefits · checked 2026-10-07
- Medshield · 2026 benefits · checked 2026-10-07
- Medshield · 2026 benefits · checked 2026-10-07
- Medshield · 2026 benefits · checked 2026-10-07
- Fedhealth · 2026 benefits · checked 2026-10-07
- Fedhealth · 2026 benefits · checked 2026-10-07
- Medihelp · 2026 benefits · checked 2026-10-07
- Profmed · 2026 benefits · checked 2026-10-07
- Genesis Medical Scheme · 2026 benefits · checked 2026-10-07
- KeyHealth · 2026 benefits · checked 2026-10-07
- GEMS · 2026 benefits · checked 2026-10-07