Published prices
These are examples to check with the provider, not a market average. “Year not stated” means the source gives no tariff year; the checked date is not a price guarantee. Swipe the table sideways on a phone.
| Provider / source | What’s included | Price | Tariff year |
|---|---|---|---|
| Protea Birth Unit · Northcliff Protea Midwifery | Primary and second midwife, birth-unit facility, stock and equipment; third-party costs excluded. | R17,000 | 2026 |
| Protea midwives at Genesis / Oxford Protea Midwifery | Practitioner birth fee only; facility fees excluded. | R12,000 | 2026 |
| Mother & Child Health · Benoni Mother & Child Health | Room 1: advanced midwife, labour and birth, 4–6 hour stay; antenatal visits separate. | R22,400 | Year not stated |
| City View Birthing Retreat · Pretoria City View Birthing Retreat | Midwife and facility fees, meals included; stock excluded. | R24,000 | Year not stated |
What changes the bill?
Protea lists antenatal visits separately: R800 for the booking visit excluding blood tests, and R600 for follow-up visits. The antenatal tariff year is not stated. Protea Midwifery
Discovery’s 2026 guide describes Hospital Benefit cover for birth-house or home delivery with a registered midwife who has a valid practice number. Confirm your own plan’s conditions. Discovery Health Medical Scheme
Questions to ask before you book
- Does the quote include both midwives and the facility?
- Which antenatal visits, blood tests and postnatal checks are separate?
- What would an ambulance transfer and hospital care cost?
Compare published medical aid maternity benefits for 2026 →
Sources
Checked on 2026-10-07. Published details can change; confirm them before you book.
- Protea Midwifery · checked 2026-10-07
- Mother & Child Health · checked 2026-10-07
- City View Birthing Retreat · checked 2026-10-07
- Discovery Health Medical Scheme · checked 2026-10-07